Happy Birthday: Gloria Swanson (1899–1983)

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Gloria Swanson (1899–1983).jpgGloria Swanson (1899–1983)

Born: March 27, 1899 in Chicago, Illinois, USA
Died: April 4, 1983 (age 84) in New York City, New York, USA

They won’t ever let me forget Sunset Boulevard (1950). Maybe I shouldn’t have done it. These people who watch the film now never heard of me. They weren’t alive when I did silent films. They think I was Norma Desmond, and I keep telling them Norma Desmond was a creation, not a real character. I NEVER was Norma Desmond, and I don’t know anyone who lived like that!

I haven’t a very great sense of humor. When I see a comedy I laugh with the others. I’m sufficiently amused, but when it’s over I have a feeling that I am not taking anything away with me. I don’t think that comedy, unless it has a great deal of irony in it, corresponds to anything in life…

View original post 91 more words

Leave a Reply

